Does anyone out there make a living as a musician in 2024?

Anything about MUSIC but doesn't fit into the forums above.
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Hi, I am a musician in Australia.
The ability to make a living as a musician has become much more difficult. Streaming has killed CD sales and provides virtually no money for musicians.
COVID shut down many venues that have not re-opened.
Is it the same elsewhere?
I make very little as a musician, but make just enough as a music teacher.
Do you make a living as a musician? If so, how? Streams? Government grants or support? Live playing? Sychronisation of your music? Patrons? Other?
Cheers, Peter

not me but...

sometimes, i go downtown and still see buskers
there will always be buskers?
if buskers are not making a living as buskers,
then why are they doing that?
ah böwakawa poussé poussé

Yeah, Music is everywhere for free I have seen people trying to sell albums online for a dollar, no go & now with economies going south nobody has cash to be diving into 'entertainment' most struggling to survive...

Some making YT video channels with enough subscribers & views make some kissing the arse of sponsors personally hate all the ads everywhere it's a disease for sure...

But for some like me never having made a dime in music however been in many bands in 70s-80s all went nowhere... Did jam at MarinaDelRey actual marina where you could plugin there (no haven't lived in CA since late 70s)... Met bassist for John Denver, etc...

Too much music floating about but alot very low quality spread about the over 5,000 genres rather ridiculous>>>

'Of course' - Taylor Swift

harryupbabble wrote: Sat May 25, 2024 1:43 pm if buskers are not making a living as buskers,
I used to do it to raise money for charity (Oxfam,etc)

harryupbabble wrote: Sat May 25, 2024 1:43 pm not me but...

sometimes, i go downtown and still see buskers
there will always be buskers?
if buskers are not making a living as buskers,
To top up their income