Choosing between Bitwig and Ableton

If you are new here check this forum first, your question may have been answered.
RELATED
PRODUCTS
Bitwig Studio 5 Live

Hi,
I'm just beginning my music making adventures and spent some time testing various DAWs. I narrowed my options down to Ableton Live 9 and Bitwig Studio. I am, however, on a limited budget, so could only afford software up to Bitwig price (so Ableton Intro version).
I am looking for a piece of software I could really dig in to, something that will take a while to learn, but also won't require me to upgrade or buy a lot of additional instruments/plugins too soon (I'm aware built in stuff will get replaced eventually, I just want enough samples/loops/instruments to fuel the learning period). Having said that, the 8 scene/16 track limitation in Ableton is really putting me off and I like the simplicity of Bitwig licensing - just buy one product and you're set. On the other hand, Ableton does seem to be more expandable and powerful, the packs quality is great and the way it's all unified and accessible is really something.

At this point I'd appreciate any insights you might have that would help me make the decision (but please don't suggest any other software - it took me long enough to get the options down to two :D). Thanks in advance.
Last edited by arca0 on Mon Jul 13, 2015 9:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

I'd keep my eye on the Marketplace forum if I were you - for 50% more (ok, I know that's a lot, but it's worth the stretch if you can do it) than the list price of Intro you'll often get a full copy of Bitwig, and there are often some very tempting offers on Ableton Live too. If you're willing to go for Ableton Live 8 I've seen it being sold ridiculously cheaply here and on Ableton's forum - just make sure you get someone with good feedback (search the Marketplace feedback thread) if you want to be sure of your ground.