Any Banjo Players Here?

A forum for discussion of all things guitar!
Post Reply New Topic
RELATED
PRODUCTS

Our son’s 17th birthday is coming up and he has mentioned a few times that he’d like to learn banjo. He’s become a pretty accomplished guitarist and is into folk, Americana, old-school country, etc. and has a couple of 6-strings and a 12-string. I’ve been a bassist my entire life, but have never tried playing banjo and have no idea where to begin, what to look for, how much to spend, etc. So, I’m looking for any advice on choosing a banjo, any specific recommendations, and thoughts on good training resources and exercises.

Also, I’ll add that he’s a kid who doesn’t ask for much and always takes it pretty seriously when he gets a new instrument (or photography gear, his other passion). So, we never buy him the cheapest “beginner” gear. My approach is always to buy him something decent (within reason, of course) that he can grow into.
Logic Pro | PolyBrute | MatrixBrute | MiniFreak | Prophet 6 | Trigon 6 | OB-6 | Rev2 | Pro 3 | SE-1X | Polar TI2 | Blofeld | RYTMmk2 | Digitone | Syntakt | Digitakt | Integra-7 | TR-8S | MPC One | TD-3 MO

Those things are heavy. That's all I know.
Dell Vostro i9 64GB Ram Windows 11 Pro, Cubase, Bitwig, Mixcraft Guitar Pod Go, Linntrument Nektar P1, Novation Launchpad

Did you go to banjo.com? Seems like it might be worth looking through. I'd like
to have one myself, being part Hillbilly and all. :tu:

https://banjo.com/banjo-blog/

What sort of banjo for what sort of music is a useful question...

At Irish sessions and ceilidhs I play a 4-string tenor resonator with a plectrum.

For a Barndance and Americana sessions I play an open back 5-string clawhammer style.

If you want to play Bluegrass Scruggs-style finger and thumb picked rolls you probably want a resonator 5-string for the volume and presence.